The Lead South Australia

News leads from South Australia

Get The Lead in your inbox. Subscribe

Kimba crowned 2021 Ag Town of the Year


The Eyre Peninsula farming town of Kimba has been named South Australia’s 2021 Agricultural Town of the Year.

Print article Republish Notify me

Sign up to receive notifications about new stories in this category.

Thank you for subscribing to story notifications.

Located at the midway point between Australia’s East and West coasts, the vibrant town finished ahead of Booleroo Centre, Kapunda, Mypolonga and Orroroo to take the prize as the state’s premier agriculture town.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham congratulated the Kimba community on the win having been a finalist in 2020.

“Recently I was in Kimba and I really was blown away by the community spirit and the way the farming community works together for the betterment of the small town,” Minister Basham said.

“With a very active agriculture bureau branch combining with a real sense of pride in innovatively finding new ways to attract tourists, it is no surprise the independent judging panel has chosen Kimba as the 2021 Ag Town of the Year winner.”

Minister Basham said Kimba has a rich agricultural history being at the forefront of South Australian dryland agriculture and it is a tradition that continues today.

“This is a town where the younger generation are the driving force behind so many initiatives and spurring on the rest of the community,” he said.

“A big factor in Kimba’s success this year has been its emphasis on future readiness and innovation and I heartily congratulate all involved.”

The announcement was made at Solstice Media’s annual Regional Showcase Awards, held at the Adelaide Hills Convention Centre on Friday night.

Minister Basham said the Ag Town of the Year Award, in its third year, continues to grow in stature.

“South Australia’s primary industries and agribusinesses generated revenue of $14.1 billion in 2019–20, making this sector a critical economic driver for the state,” Minister Basham said.

“The Ag Town of the Year award recognises towns that demonstrate excellence in agriculture, encouraging growth in primary industry and fostering leadership in this sector.”

He said the judging panel had a difficult time making this decision, with each of the finalists all worthy contenders.

“They are all towns that excel in agricultural practices, embrace a vibrant community spirit and resilience, and are committed to regional development,” Minister Basham said.

Member for Flinders Peter Treloar congratulated the Kimba community on winning the Ag Town of the Year Award.

“Kimba is a small but proud community and it’s fantastic to see the town get this sort of recognition,” Treloar said.

“Given all the significant challenges farming communities have faced in recent years such as COVID-19 restrictions and challenging seasonal conditions, Kimba, and the other four finalists should all be immensely proud of their achievements.”

This is a Creative Commons story from The Lead South Australia, a news service providing stories about innovation in South Australia. Please feel free to use the story in any form of media. The story sources are linked in with the copy and all contacts are willing to talk further about the story. Copied to Clipboard

More Regional stories

Loading next article