The Lead South Australia

News leads from South Australia

Get The Lead in your inbox. Subscribe

Voting opens to find the 2020 AgTown of the Year

Primary Industries

After a tough year of drought, fire and contagion in the regions, South Australians are being urged to show their support by voting for their favourite town in the Agricultural Town of the Year award.

Print article Republish Notify me

Sign up to receive notifications about new stories in this category.

Thank you for subscribing to story notifications.

Anyone can vote for any of the 70 nominated towns until 30 October – with voting limited to one per person – to determine the top five towns for the competition shortlist.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham said the high calibre of town nominations was inspiring and reflects the evident pride amongst these South Australian communities.

“Due to the COVID-19 restrictions we have moved the AgTown of the Year award to later in the year but it is pleasing to see 70 towns nominated,” said Minister Basham.

“Through the challenges of 2020, we have seen the importance of agriculture and its ability to keep the economy moving.”

In its second year, the AgTown of the Year award is presented by Primary Industries and Regions SA and Solstice Media, the publisher of InDaily. The award was launched to acknowledge the South Australian towns that excel in agriculture and the impact they have on our communities.

“Regional communities play a key role in agriculture and this year’s award will no doubt unearth stories of resilience, community spirit and determination,” Minister Basham said.

The award also celebrates the resilience of these towns in the face of adversity, as reflected in last year’s award winner, Cleve, and the town’s perseverance through drought.

Once the public vote is tallied on the 70 nominated towns, the shortlisted top five towns will be asked to provide responses to the remaining entry questions and an itinerary ahead of a regional visit by the judging panel in January 2021.

The winner will then be announced in February, followed by a community event held in April to celebrate the achievement.

“I would encourage all South Australians to go online and vote for your favourite AgTown in this much anticipated competition,” Minister Basham said.

“With 70 towns nominated, up from 43 last year, picking a winner is expected to be a very challenging task.”

To vote online, visit


This is a Creative Commons story from The Lead South Australia, a news service providing stories about innovation in South Australia. Please feel free to use the story in any form of media. The story sources are linked in with the copy and all contacts are willing to talk further about the story. Copied to Clipboard

More Primary Industries stories

Loading next article