The Lead South Australia

News leads from South Australia

Get The Lead in your inbox. Subscribe

South Australian STEMM Awards finalists announced


Many of the 19 finalists for the 2020 South Australian Science Excellence and Innovation Awards have one thing in common: a story on the Lead.

Print article Republish Notify me

Sign up to receive notifications about new stories in this category.

Thank you for subscribing to story notifications.

A record number of nominations were received for this year’s awards, with almost 100 entries received across six different categories.

A common link between the 19 scientists, researchers, innovators and educators is that the majority of them have been reported on in The Lead South Australia at some point in the past year. Follow the links to discover their backgrounds.

The awards were introduced to celebrate the scientific contributions, life-changing research and innovate ideas that are being created across the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and medical (STEMM) fields.

“The role of science has never been more important to unlock new thinking and innovation across the state’s key growth industries including defence, cyber security, health, and agriculture,” Minister for Innovation and Skills David Pisoni said.

Finalists this year have been involved in researching kidney disease, atrial fibrillation, monitoring health in space, launching rockets, lightweight military x-ray units and even sustainable development opportunities for South Australia.

“The record number of nominations in this year’s awards reflect the high-quality work and cutting-edge ideas being developed in South Australia,” Minister Pisoni said.

In the running for South Australian Scientist of the Year is Professor Emily Hilder from the University of SA, Professor Timothy Hughes of the SA Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI), Professor Sharad Kumar from the University of SA, and Professor Colin Raston of Flinders Univeristy.

The Innovator of the Year finalists consist of the Project Team from the Australian Centre for Child Protection, Cryoclock, and Micro-X.

The STEMM Educator of the Year (Primary and Secondary Level) considers Katie Gloede from the Adelaide Football Club, Thomas Oliphant from Pembroke School and Kristie Talbot from Modbury School.

Finalists for the STEMM Educator of the year (University and Registered Training Organisation level) are Dr Wayne Boardman from the University of Adelaide, Dr Maurizio Costabile from the University of SA, and Professor Kerry Wilkinson from the University of Adelaide.

The Excellence in Science and Industry Collaboration award is looking at The Great Australian Bight Research Project from the SA Research and Development Institute, The Medical Device Partnering Program from Flinders University, and Out of the Smoke from the Australian Wine Institute.

Lastly, the PhD Research Excellence award has chosen finalists Dr Samuel Costello from the University of Adelaide, Dr Erinn Fagan-Jeffries from the University of Adelaide, and Dr Melissa Middeldorp from the University of Adelaide.

The winners will be announced later in the year.

This is a Creative Commons story from The Lead South Australia, a news service providing stories about innovation in South Australia. Please feel free to use the story in any form of media. The story sources are linked in with the copy and all contacts are willing to talk further about the story. Copied to Clipboard

More Innovators stories

Loading next article