The Lead South Australia

News leads from South Australia

Get The Lead in your inbox. Subscribe

Rosemount Estate claims Royal Adelaide Wine Show crown

Food & Wine

McLaren Vale’s Rosemount Estate has taken out the prestigious Max Schubert Trophy ahead of 350 other wineries at the Royal Adelaide Wine Show.

Print article Republish Notify me

Sign up to receive notifications about new stories in this category.

Thank you for subscribing to story notifications.

Rosemount’s 2017 Balmoral Syrah won three trophies – Best South Australian Red Wine and Best Shiraz as well as the Most Outstanding Red Wine prize.

The Treasury Wine Estate’s owned winery was established in the McLaren Vale sub-region of Seaview in 1974.

Balmoral Syrah is Rosemount’s flagship Shiraz with its distinctive style paying tribute to the Shiraz wines of the Rhone Valley and Mediterranean – hence the traditional French name ‘Syrah.’

The 2017 vintage has yet to be released but the 2014 vintage sells for about $80 a bottle and was matured in new and seasoned French and American oak.

South Australian wineries won 12 of the 24 trophies presented on October 4 in Adelaide while Western Australian wineries performed well to win seven trophies.

Of these, Margaret River winery Deep Woods was a standout, winning Most Outstanding White Wine and Best Chardonnay with its Deep Woods Estate’s 2018 Reserve Chardonnay, Best Other Red Blend with its 2018 Shiraz Et Al and Best Dry White Blend with its ‘Ivory’ Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2019.

Barossa stalwart Peter Lehmann Wines won the coveted Outstanding Wine of Provenance trophy for its Wigan Riesling, while Grant Burge Wines took out the Best South Australian White Wine in Show and Best Riesling in Show trophies with its 2015 The Vigneron Reserve Eden Valley Riesling.

Chair of Judges Louisa Rose said the 2019 Royal Adelaide Wine Show attracted 2647 entries from 351 Australian wineries, with judging taking place over the past week.

“The judging panel tasted between 120 and 140 wines each day and there was much scrutiny and engagement, with panels often relooking at classes with fresh pours and much discussion,” she said.

“The most represented variety was Shiraz, with over 600 entries judged and 31 gold medals awarded. This level of quality shows the strength of the variety in Australia, and the range of wines, styles and diversity.

“In the Cabernet Sauvignon class over 300 wines were judged and 22 golds awarded – the best were fragrant, supple and balanced with fine, long tannins. The third most represented variety, Chardonnay, saw 13 gold medals awarded, and judges commented on the diversity, charm, balance and composure of the wines.”

South Australia typically produces about 50 per cent of Australia’s wine and 80 per cent of its premium wine each year.

Members of the public can sample the trophy winning wines this afternoon and tonight (Friday, October 4) at Taste of the Best – the Royal Adelaide Wine Show Public Tasting.

Trophy winners:

The Max Schubert Trophy for Most Outstanding Red Wine in Show
Sponsored by the CCL Label Solutions
Balmoral Syrah 2017 Rosemount Estate (McLaren Vale, South Australia)

The Governor’s Trophy for Best South Australian White Wine in Show
‘The Vigneron’ Reserve Eden Valley Riesling 2015 Grant Burge Wines (Eden Valley, SA)

The Governor’s Trophy for Best South Australian Red Wine in Show
Balmoral Syrah 2017 Rosemount Estate (McLaren Vale, SA)

The George Fairbrother Memorial Trust Most Outstanding White Wine in Show
Sponsored by Duxton Capital Australia
Deep Woods Estate Reserve Chardonnay (Margaret River, Western Australia)

The Gramp, Hardy, Hill Smith Prize for Outstanding Wine of Provenance
Wigan Riesling (2014, 2006, 2004) Peter Lehmann Wines (Barossa, SA)

The F Miller & Co Prize for Winemaker of the Outstanding Wine of Provenance
Sponsored by F Miller & Co Pty Ltd
Tim Dolan, 
Peter Lehmann Wines (Barossa, SA)

The Hurtle and Norman Walker Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine in Show
Sponsored by Cellarbrations Independent Liquor Stores
Pamela Sparkling 2013 Wicks Estate (Adelaide Hills, SA)

The John Fornachon Memorial Trophy for Best Apera, Topaque or Muscat
Sponsored by Pellenc Australia
Old Premium Rare Muscat Morris Wines (Rutherglen, Victoria)

The InDaily Trophy for Best Australian Vintage, Tawny or Ruby
Sponsored by InDaily
Vintage Fortified Shiraz 2018 Graham Stevens Wines (McLaren Vale, SA)

The Braud Australia Trophy for Best Sweet White Table Wine
Sponsored by Braud Australia
Patricia Noble Riesling 2015 Brown Brothers (Milawa, VIC)

The Australian Wine Research Institute Commercial Services Trophy for Best Riesling in Show
Sponsored by AWRI Commercial Services
‘The Vigneron’ Reserve Eden Valley Riesling 2015
Grant Burge Wines (SA)

The Arkaba Cellars Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc in Show
Sponsored by Arkaba Hotel
Sauvignon Blanc 2019 Franklin Tate Estates (Margaret River, WA)

The Finlayson’s Trophy Best Semillon in Show
Sponsored by Finlaysons
Bin 9000 Semillon 2013 McGuigan Wines (Hunter Valley, NSW)

The Seguin Moreau Trophy for Best Chardonnay in Show
Sponsored by Seguin Moreau Australasia
Reserve Chardonnay 2018 Deep Woods Estate (Margaret River, WA)

The BDO Trophy for Best Dry White Blend
Sponsored by BDO
‘Ivory’ Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2019 Deep Woods Estate (Margaret River, WA)

The Programmed Property Services Trophy for Best Other White Varietal
Sponsored by Programmed Property Services Limited
Howard Vineyard Pinot Gris 2019 (Adelaide Hills, SA)

The Piper Alderman Trophy for Best Rose
Sponsored by Piper Alderman
Dowie Doole Rose 2019 (McLaren Vale, SA)

The Lallemand Australia Trophy for best Pinot Noir
Sponsored by Lallemand Australia Pty Ltd
Devil’s Corner Resolution Pinot Noir 2017 (Tasmania)

The Tilbrook Rasheed Trophy Best Grenache or Grenache Blend
Sponsored by Tilbrook Rasheed
Purple Hands Wines Barossa Valley Old Vine Grenache 2018 (SA)

The Radoux Australia Trophy Best Other Red Blend
Sponsored by Radoux Australia
Deep Woods Estate Shiraz Et Al. 2018 (Margaret River, WA)

The Karl Seppelt Trophy Best Other Red Varietal
Sponsored by Mr David C Dridan OAM and Integrated Precision Viticulture
Ferngrove Wines Black Label Malbec 2018 (Frankland River, WA)

Professor AJ Perkins Trophy Best Cabernet Sauvignon in Show
Sponsored by Vili’s
Xanadu Wines Cabernet Sauvignon 2017
 (Margaret River, WA)

The Dr Ray Beckwith OAM Memorial Trophy Best Traditional Australian Red Blend
Sponsored by Fassina
Wolf Blass Wines Grey Label Cabernet Shiraz 2017 (Barossa, SA)

The Wine Communicators of Australia SA Chapter Best Shiraz in Show
Sponsored by Wine Communicators of Australia, SA Chapter
Rosemount Estate Balmoral Syrah 2017 (McLaren Vale, SA)

This is a Creative Commons story from The Lead South Australia, a news service providing stories about innovation in South Australia. Please feel free to use the story in any form of media. The story sources are linked in with the copy and all contacts are willing to talk further about the story. Copied to Clipboard

More Food & Wine stories

Loading next article